Your Company Logo Here

The Metaphysical Society of America
Founded in 1950
Constituent of the American Council of Learned Societies

The Metaphysical Society of America is an organization of professional philosophers that meets annually to discuss issues of fundamental concern in all of the major areas of philosophical reflection. It is a society committed to the principle that philosophical thought is open to a variety of different traditions and methodologies, and at its annual meeting, it provides a forum for the discussion of the questions that have animated philosophical debate from the start. As the opening declaration of its constitution states, “The purpose of the Metaphysical Society of America is the study of reality.” The Society has no publication of its own, but has from its inception maintained a close informal relation with the Review of Metaphysics. Since 1958 it has been a constituent of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Past Presidents include Paul Weiss, Charles Hartshorne, W. E. Hocking, John Herman Randall, Errol Harris, John E. Smith, J. N. Findlay, Wilfrid Sellars, Joseph Owens, Stanley Rosen, Robert Cummings Neville, and Nicholas Rescher. More...

2018 Conference Registration

The Metaphysics of Agency: Intention, Purpose, and Action

Richard Velkley, Tulane University (President)

John McDowell, University of Pittsburgh (Keynote speaker)

Mail-In Registration Form

Online Meeting Registration

Hotel Reservation Group Rate:
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel
3405 Lenox Road NE, Atlanta GA, 30326
March 22 - 25 2018

  • Meeting Program

    Membership options

    Follow the MSA

    Click here to subscribe to the MSA-L or to update your subscription. Use social media? Follow us on Facebook.

    Follow us on Twitter @USMetaSociety

  • Founding President, Paul Weiss (1901-2002)