Your Company Logo Here

The Metaphysical Society of America
Founded in 1950
Constituent of the American Council of Learned Societies

The Metaphysical Society of America is an organization of professional philosophers that meets once annually to discuss issues of fundamental concern in all of the major areas of philosophical reflection. It is a society committed to the principle that philosophical thought is open to a variety of different traditions and methodologies, and at its annual meeting, it provides a forum for the discussion of the questions that have animated philosophical debate from the start. As the opening declaration of its constitution states, “The purpose of the Metaphysical Society of America is the study of reality.” The Society has no publication of its own, but has from its inception maintained a close informal relation with the Review of Metaphysics. Since 1958 it has been a constituent of the American Council of Learned Societies.

Past Presidents include Paul Weiss, Charles Hartshorne, W. E. Hocking, John Herman Randall, Errol Harris, John E. Smith, J. N. Findlay, Wilfrid Sellars, Joseph Owens, Stanley Rosen, Robert Cummings Neville, and Nicholas Rescher. More...

New: online registration now available

March 18, 2015
It is now possible to register for the conference and banquet securely online. More...

Updated 2015 meeting program

February 15, 2015
The updated program includes paper commentators. Conference papers will be posted soon. More...

Call for Abstracts for 2016

January 1, 2015
The call for abstracts for the 2016 meeting of the Society in Annapolis, Maryland is now available. Please circulate it widely and consider submitting an abstract. More...

Travel Details and Registration for 2015

December 22, 2014
The travel details and registration form for the 2015 meeting are now available. Please send in your registration form and make your hotel reservation as soon as possible. More...

Program for 2015 Meeting

November 3, 2014
The tentative program for the 2015 meeting of the Society is now available. More...

Follow the MSA

Click here to subscribe to the MSA-L or to update your subscription. Use social media? Follow us on Facebook.

Founding President, Paul Weiss (1901-2002)